Last night we were under tornado warnings,  but most of the storms skirted around my neighborhood.  This morning as I look at the news, I realize how lucky we were  and what could have been.  It makes me stop and put my worries and problems in perspective.

As I say, my particular area was lucky, but many in our region have lost everything.  People to North, South and West of our area were hit by tornadoes.  To get a better idea of what I am referring to, you can see WAVY TV’s Slide Show of damage. You can also go see WTKR TV’s video of the aftermath.  I have seen news reports of worse damage in North and South Carolina. If you feel so moved please consider donations to the South Eastern Virginia Red Cross Chapter . Or a American Red Cross chapter in one of the other regions that received these devastating storms.
I have been stressed over my recent surgery, worried about my recovery.  Worrying whether I will be allowed to return to my job once my convalescence period is up. This morning those worries are placed aside and I am thankful. I am thankful that I got to hug the beautiful bride and each one of my children this morning, that I got to hug my Dad before he left to go back to West Virginia. I am thankful that I awoke in a warm, dry bed. I  was able to turn on the water and have fresh clean water to pour in my coffee maker, the electricity was working to allow my coffee to be brewed. Many things we all take for granted, as we complain about our problems and lament our poor luck, so many do not have.  Even though my back has and is currently causing some inconvenience, I have a great life. I have the basic necessities that many in the region would consider a luxury right now.

It is a shame that it takes the misfortune of others for many of us to count our blessings, and though I have many of my own worries and issues, they are nothing to that of those affected by last nights nasty weather.

Thanks for Reading and please consider a donation to the Red Cross. You don’t have to use the link I provided or the chapter I linked to.  Look over the news reports and pick one of  the many regions of the Mid-Atlantic / South-East that was devastated and do what you can to help.

Steve AKA FatherNoRest

